~/people/

Demba Ba

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Bioengineering

demba@seas.harvard.edu
+1 (617) 496-1228

Professor Ba's interests lie at the intersection of theory, computing, and data, with diverse applications that range from computational neuroscience, multimedia signal processing, and network science. He received the B.Sc. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Maryland, College Park, in 2004 and the M.Sci. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science with a minor in Mathematics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA in 2006 and 2011, respectively. He went on to work as a Postdoctoral Associate with the MIT/Harvard Neuroscience Statistics Research Laboratory, where he developed theory and efficient algorithms to assess synchrony among large assemblies of neurons. In 2006 and 2009, he was a Summer Research Intern with the Communication and Collaboration Systems Group, Microsoft Research, Redmond, WA. In 2009, Professor Ba and his collaborators developed the first algorithm that could use sound to inferm the goemetry of a room. This pioneering work has numerous implications for the design of smart soundscapes and for speech enhancement systems in highly-reverberant environment.

members_

Abiy Tasissa
Research Associate
abiy.tasissa@tufts.edu

Diana Zhang
PhD student
yingzhuozhang@g.harvard.edu

Andrew Song
PhD student
andrew90@mit.edu

Bahareh Tolooshams
PhD student
btolooshams@seas.harvard.edu

Manos Theodosis
PhD student
etheodosis@g.harvard.edu

Alex Lin
PhD student
alexanderlin01@g.harvard.edu

Max Guo
Undergrad researcher
mguo@college.harvard.edu

Pranay Tankala
Undergrad researcher
pranay_tankala@college.harvard.edu

past_members_

Javier Zazo
Post-doc
Now: Microsoft Research

Edward Novikov
PhD student

Hyeon-Jae Seo
Undergrad researcher

Thomas Chang
Undergrad researcher
Now: Google

Noa Malem-Shinitski
Visiting Research Associate
Now: PhD student at University of Potsdam

Anne Smith
Visiting Research Scientist
Now: Sage Therapeutics